Jefferson Surgical Solutions

Article Title

News in Brief


In July, Scott D. Goldstein, MD, retired following 37 years as a faculty member in the Division of Colorectal Surgery – including over 17 years as division chief. We thank him for the decades of clinical excellence, patient care, teaching, and leadership he provided our patients, trainees, faculty and staff.

Benjamin R. Phillips, MD, has been named Chief of the Division of Colorectal Surgery following a national search. Dr. Phillips is a graduate of our Colorectal Fellowship Program and joined the faculty in 2013. He has received numerous teaching awards, including the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Education, and is a Past President of the Pennsylvania Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons.

Alliric Willis, MD, MSPH, has been named Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs. He also recently completed his Master of Science in Population Health (MSPH) degree.

On November 13, Steven Copit, MD, Enterprise Chief of Plastic Surgery, was honored with the Founders Award from Living Beyond Breast Cancer at the Butterfly Ball held at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel.

Joshua Marks, MD and George Koenig, DO, (Division of Acute Care Surgery) have been named Medical Co-Directors of the Center for Operational Resource Efficiency (CORE) and the Transfer Center.

In November, 2 W. Kim Foster Pilot Grants were awarded to (1) Avinoam Nevler, MD for his work entitled “Targeting CO2 chemoresistance and radioresistance in pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma” and (2) Shawnna Cannaday, MSN, FNP-BC, and Theresa P. Yeo, PhD, MPH, for their project entitled “Implementing Educational Videos to Enhance Preparedness for Surgery.” For background on this grant program, see Those Who Give.