Jefferson Surgical Solutions


Geno Merli, MD, is the 2018 recipient of the Sidney Kimmel Medical College Career Educator Award.

Drs. Melissa Lazar, Joshua Marks, David Rittenhouse, and Alliric Willis, each received a Sidney Kimmel Medical College Dean’s Award for Excellence in Education.

Scott Cowan, MD, was appointed Medical Director of Quality and Safety at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital.

Gerald Isenberg, MD, has been named President-Elect of Thomas Jefferson University Hospital Medical Staff.

Lisa Bevilacqua, MD (PGY1), received the Patricia Numann Medical Student Award from the Association of Women Surgeons (AWS). Named in honor of the founder of AWS, this award was established to encourage and support female medical students pursuing a career in surgery.

Alec Beekley, MD, has been selected to serve as Director of the Division of Minimally Invasive, Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery.

Warren Maley, MD, has been selected to serve as Director of the Jefferson Transplant Institute and Division of Transplant Surgery.

Francesco Palazzo, MD, is Editor of the recently published textbook Fundamentals of General Surgery. Michael Pucci, MD, contributed significantly to the publication.

Gary Rosato, MD, was elected Vice President of the prestigious Halsted Society at the 92nd Annual Meeting at Stanford University in September.

On October 3, Gerald Isenberg, MD, and Orlando Kirton, MD, were inducted as Associate Members into the inaugural class of the Academy of Master Surgeon Educators, established by the American College of Surgeons.