Jefferson Surgical Solutions

Article Title

News in Brief


Promotions and Advancement

Luis Eraso, MD, (Division of Vascular Surgery), and John Kairys, MD, FACS (Division of General Surgery), have each been promoted to Associate Professor of Surgery.

Orlando Kirton, MD, FACS, has been named Vice Chair, Chief of Surgery at Abington Hospital.

Jack Sariego, MD, FACS, has been named Vice Chair, Chief of Surgery at Aria.

Alliric Willis, MD, FACS, has been named Vice Chair for Faculty Affairs & Faculty Development.

Save the Date

Please join us on Tuesday, November 28, 2017, at the 15th Annual Jefferson Gala. Chair of Surgery, Charles J. Yeo, MD, FACS, will receive the Achievement Award in Medicine. For information about sponsorship opportunities, tickets or other questions, please contact the Office of Protocol and Special Events at events@jefferson.edu or 215-955-9100. Jefferson.edu/Gala

New Faculty

Rajesh Aggarwal, MD, PhD, FACS, has joined the Division of Minimally Invasive, Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery and sees patients at both Thomas Jefferson University Hospital and Methodist Hospital. Dr. Aggarwal is also Sr. Vice President of Strategic Business Development for the Innovation Pillar at Jefferson.

The Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery recently welcomed the following new faculty members:

George M. Comas, MD, FACS, completed a fellowship in Cardiothoracic Surgery at the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons and is dual certified in Surgery and Thoracic Surgery. He sees patients at Abington Hospital.

Vakhtang Tchantchaleishvili, MD, recently completed an Advanced Fellowship in Mechanical Circulatory Support & Cardiac Transplantation at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN. He sees patients at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital.

Serrie Lico, MD, is dual certified in Surgery and Thoracic Surgery and specializes in minimally invasive cardiac surgery. He sees patients at affiliate sites including Aria and Einstein.